Yes, Article 2C of the New Mexico Cannabis Regulation Act permits the consumption of marijuana by smoking for both medical and recreational purposes.
No. Public smoking of marijuana in New Mexico is prohibited under the state's Cannabis Regulation Act. However, a few exceptions exist for certain designated places for marijuana consumption. It is illegal to smoke weed on a public passenger transport in the state. Under the New Mexico Cannabis Regulation Act, smoking weed in any of the following public spaces constitutes a violation of the state laws:
Whether parked or moving, it is a punishable offense to smoke marijuana in a vehicle in New Mexico. Operating a motor vehicle under the influence of cannabis is illegal. Anyone cited for public consumption of marijuana in the state risks up to a $50 fine. Nonetheless, consumers can have cannabis products in their personal vehicles and even travel with them within the state, provided they are kept out of the drivers' or passengers' reach.
Under New Mexico marijuana laws, recreational cannabis users aged 21 years or older and registered marijuana patients can smoke marijuana in the state.
All cannabis consumption, including smoking, in New Mexico must take place in consumers' private residences or at licensed cannabis consumption lounges. A person may also smoke weed in another person's house if they have the owner's permission. It is illegal to smoke or consume marijuana in offices and on federal properties including parks, courthouses, and federal buildings located in New Mexico.