Yes. In Santa Fe, cannabis dispensaries are allowed to operate. Marijuana was legalized in New Mexico in 2021 through the passage of House Bill 2, also known as the Cannabis Regulation Act. This Act permits the establishment of marijuana retail stores throughout the state. Santa Fe permits cannabis dispensaries to be located in its C-2, BCD, I-1, I-2, BIP, SC-1, SC-2, SC-3, and MU districts.
Yes. The operations of medical cannabis dispensaries are authorized within the boundaries of the City of Santa Fe. Medical marijuana was approved in New Mexico in 2007 through the Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act. This Act allows cities in New Mexico to grant approvals for the operation of medical cannabis dispensaries.
Yes. Santa Fe cannabis dispensaries sell cannabis online via their websites. Hence, you can review their inventories online and place orders for cannabis products.
Going to a Santa Fe dispensary is often a thrilling experience for experienced cannabis users and first-time visitors. Santa Fe dispensaries ensure customers feel welcome by employing budtenders with cannabis training who can guide visitors in making the right choices and answer varying cannabis question types. However, before you may enter to be attended to by a budtender, you must scale an identity check.
A valid government-issued picture ID is required to enter a dispensary in Santa Fe. This ID must demonstrate that you are at least 21 years old, the minimum legal age for cannabis consumption in the city. Whether you are a local or tourist, you can buy recreational cannabis in Santa Fe if you can show an acceptable ID proving you are of legal age. If you intend to buy medical marijuana, you must present a New Mexico medical marijuana card. As a tourist intending to buy medical marijuana, proof of physician authorization to use medical marijuana may suffice to purchase medical marijuana at a Santa Fe medical marijuana dispensary.
As the federal government has yet to regulate the cannabis market, the majority of cannabis shops in Santa Fe only take cash. Sometimes, you may also be able to pay with a debit card, but credit cards are not typically accepted. As a result, dispensaries have ATMs so that consumers can withdraw cash.
Cannabis dispensaries in Santa Fe are required to comply with the following laws:
Obtain a cannabis business license from the relevant state agency and the City of Santa Fe permit before setting up an establishment in the city
No dispensary may be located within 300 feet of a school or 400 feet of another retailer
No dispensary may operate earlier than 7:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m.
No Santa Fe dispensary may sell cannabis to individuals who do not have an acceptable ID showing they are 21 or older or valid medical marijuana cards or authorizations
Dispensaries must prohibit cannabis use on their premises
Dispensaries may not sell recreational cannabis to minors
Recreational cannabis became legal in Santa Fe and other New Mexico jurisdictions in 2021, according to the New Mexico Cannabis Regulation Act. Under the New Mexico CRA:
Legal age for possession: The legal age for using and possessing recreational cannabis in Santa Fe is 21 years or older
Possession limits: Adults over the age of 21 can possess up to 2 ounces of cannabis flower, 16 grams of extracts, or up to 800 milligrams of THC contained in edibles
Cultivation laws: Adults over the age of 21 are allowed to cultivate six mature cannabis plants for personal use and 12 mature cannabis plants per household
Public use restrictions: Cannabis cannot be consumed in public places or in a manner that endangers the health and well-being of others
Driving under the influence: Driving while impaired from cannabis use is illegal and can result in serious penalties, including fines and imprisonment
Employment rights: Employers are allowed to maintain drug-free workplaces and may take disciplinary action against employees who use or possess cannabis on the job
Cannabis sharing: While sharing cannabis with minors is illegal, adults aged 21 years or older are allowed to share their cannabis, within the specified possession limits, with other adults of legal age without receiving any form of payment in return. Also, cannabis sharing must not involve the exchange of a product or service
Medical marijuana has been legal in Santa Fe since 2007, with the passing of SB 523. This law established a framework for the safe and responsible use of medical cannabis for qualified patients. SB 523 stipulates that:
Qualifying conditions: Patients must have one of the qualifying medical conditions listed in the Act, such as cancer, multiple sclerosis, or epilepsy, in order to participate in the New Mexico medical cannabis program
Medical marijuana card: Patients must register with the New Mexico Department of Health to participate in the medical cannabis program. Registered patients are subsequently issued medical marijuana cards which allow them to purchase medical cannabis at approved dispensaries legally
Minors: Patients under 18 can only access medical cannabis under the New Mexico medical cannabis program through their approved adult caregivers
Purchase and possession limits: Medical marijuana patients registered with the state can purchase a total of 425 units of cannabis and its related products over a 90-day period. This equates to one gram of dried flower per unit or 15 ounces of dried flower products. One unit represents 200 milligrams or 0.2 grams of THC for edibles, topicals, and tinctures. To help patients monitor their purchases, the state has made available an online tracking tool that allows them to keep track of their 90-day purchases
Home cultivation: Patients can obtain personal production licenses (PPLs), which allow them to grow cannabis for personal use. Upon approval of their PPLs, patients can cultivate up to four mature cannabis plants and 12 seedlings
If you reside in the City of Santa Fe and have one of the 28 qualifying conditions, you can apply to the New Mexico Department of Health to obtain a medical marijuana card. To verify that you have one of the debilitating conditions, you must obtain a medical cannabis certification from an approved New Mexico physician.
You can complete your application by mail or in person. Regardless of the method selected, you must include in your submission a completed application form, a copy of your valid New Mexico driver's license or photo identification, and your medical cannabis attestation. You may submit the application:
By mail to:
Department of Health
Medical Cannabis Program
PO Box 26110
Santa Fe, NM 87502-6110
Or in person to:
Department of Health
Medical Cannabis Program
1474 Rodeo Road, Suite 200
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Once your application has been determined successful, you will receive your medical marijuana ID card at the address provided in your application within 35 days. For further information on obtaining a medical marijuana card in Santa Fe, you can visit the NMDOH website.
Cannabis may be consumed on private properties in Santa Fe. Consumption in public areas, such as streets, schools, and buses, is illegal.
You can buy cannabis adult-use at a Santa Fe dispensary if you have cash and a valid government-issued ID showing you are 21 or older. To purchase medical marijuana, you need a medical marijuana card, a government-issued ID, and cash.
The average price of one gram of recreational weed in Santa Fe is $15.
Some popular cannabis strains in Santa Fe are:
No. It is illegal to use marijuana in locations considered public areas in Santa Fe.
State cannabis legislation allows individuals over the age of 21 in Santa Fe to possess up to two ounces of cannabis and 16 grams of edibles or extracts for recreational uses. Medical cannabis patients may possess up to 425 units of cannabis and cannabis products over a rolling 90-day period.
According to Federal law, it is illegal to carry marijuana across state lines into or out of Santa Fe. Despite being legal in the city, marijuana is still considered a prohibited narcotic under federal law as per the Controlled Substances Act.
Yes. You can order cannabis online in Santa Fe.
There are no 24-hour dispensaries in the City of Santa Fe.
Yes. Visitors to Santa Fe with a valid government-issued ID proving that they are 21 years of age or older are permitted to purchase recreational marijuana from the city's dispensaries. Additionally, tourists who have physician's recommendations from their states can buy medical cannabis in Santa Fe.
When visiting a Santa Fe cannabis dispensary, you must present a government-issued photo ID to confirm that you are at least 21. This is the only form of identification required to purchase recreational marijuana in the city. However, if you wish to buy medical marijuana, you must have a medical marijuana card.
Some of the top-rated cannabis dispensaries in the City of Santa Fe include:
Sacred Garden Dispensary
R.Greenleaf medical and recreational cannabis dispensaries
Santa Fe cannabis dispensaries will scan your ID to keep track of your marijuana purchases and to verify that you are of legal age to use marijuana in the city.
There is no official source on the number of cannabis retail outlets in Santa Fe. However, there are at least ten cannabis dispensaries in the city.
Santa Fe marijuana dispensaries do not accept credit card payments. Typically, cannabis transactions in the city are conducted using cash. Some dispensaries may have an ATM on the premises, allowing customers to withdraw cash and complete their purchases.
There is no restriction on the number of cannabis dispensaries you can visit in a single day in Santa Fe. However, you can only purchase the maximum amount of marijuana allowed under the law, regardless of the number of dispensaries you visit.
No, cannabis dispensaries in Santa Fe do not accept health insurance as a form of payment. This is because, according to federal law, health insurance plans do not cover cannabis purchases.
Yes. Cannabis retailers in Santa Fe keep track of customers' purchases in accordance with the state's laws and regulations.
No. To enter an adult-use cannabis dispensary in Santa Fe, you must be 21 years of age or older. On the other hand, individuals who are 18 or older are allowed to enter medical cannabis dispensaries in the city.
The New Mexico Cannabis Control Division (CCD), under the state's Regulation and Licensing Department, oversees all cannabis operations in Santa Fe and other New Mexico jurisdictions. You can find the contact information for the CCD on the help center page of the New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department's official web page.
To report violations of cannabis rules in Santa Fe, you may contact the:
Santa Fe Police Department: You can file a report online to the police department using the file a report online tool or call the PD at (505) 428-3710