Yes. Marijuana dispensaries are permitted in Albuquerque. Note that marijuana became legal in New Mexico in 2021 when the state legislature approved HB2, also called the Cannabis Regulation Act. HB2 permits the establishment of cannabis retail stores across New Mexico jurisdiction.
Yes. The City of Albuquerque permits the operations of medical marijuana dispensaries within its borders. Medical marijuana was legalized in New Mexico in 2007 pursuant to the Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act. The Act allows cities in New Mexico to approve the establishment of medical marijuana dispensaries in their jurisdictions.
Yes. With Albuquerque approving marijuana delivery, you can purchase marijuana online from dispensaries in the city.
Although recreational cannabis dispensaries were only recently legally approved in Albuquerque, visits to dispensaries in the city are often exciting experiences for cannabis enthusiasts. However, if you are visiting a weed dispensary for the first time, here are a few things to note to maximize your shopping experience.
The primary need for your visit to an Albuquerque dispensary is a valid government-issued photo ID, which must be presented upon arrival at the facility. The ID must show that you are of legal age (21) to consume cannabis in Albuquerque. Also, since the federal government does not yet regulate the cannabis sector, most dispensaries in the city accept cash for cannabis transactions. Consequently, some dispensaries have waiting rooms outfitted with ATMs for customers to withdraw cash.
Albuquerque dispensaries usually have employees, called budtenders, who attend to customers to help them make the best choices in their purchases. Budtenders have many years of experience with cannabis and often have certifications to back up their knowledge.
Dispensary laws in the City of Albuquerque require that in order to enter a dispensary, visitors must be at least 21 or older and possess valid identification cards or medical marijuana cards issued by the state of New Mexico. According to Albuquerque's Integrated Development Ordinance (IDO), cannabis retail establishments may not be within 300 feet of a child daycare center or school. Cannabis retail establishments also cannot be located within 600 feet of another cannabis retail establishment.
Under the New Mexico Cannabis Regulation Act, cannabis is legal for Albuquerque residents aged 21 or older. Residents over the age of 21 are permitted to possess and purchase up to two ounces of marijuana, 16 grams of cannabis extracts, or 800 milligrams of edible cannabis in a single transaction under the New Mexico Cannabis Regulation Act. Possession of between two and eight ounces is a misdemeanor while possessing more than 8 ounces of cannabis is deemed a felony.
Without a permit, adults over 21 may cultivate up to six plants per person or twelve plants per household. The cannabis plants must be grown discreetly such that a neighbor cannot observe a plant maturing. Although it is unlawful to give or share cannabis with minors, it is lawful for Albuquerque adults 21 or older to share cannabis without compensation with persons aged 21 or older under the stipulated possession limits. Note that cannabis sharing may not involve the sale of a commodity or service.
Under the law, driving under the influence of marijuana is prohibited. DWI occurs when a driver cannot safely operate a vehicle. New Mexico law only requires a minimal level of impairment to charge a driver with DWI. In accordance with New Mexico statute 66-8-102, a conviction for a first offense is considered a petty misdemeanor. The maximum penalty is 90 days imprisonment, a $500 fine, and other costs.
Albuquerque residents of legal age may only purchase cannabis from licensed adult-use cannabis in the city. New Mexico applies a 12% excise tax on purchases. The tax will increase by a further 1% annually from 2025 until 2030. Although residents may consume cannabis at approved consumption lounges, public cannabis consumption is illegal.
Medical marijuana is legal in Albuquerque pursuant to SB 523, passed by the New Mexico legislature in 2007. SB523 created a statewide medical marijuana program allowing residents with valid recommendations from physicians to obtain medical cannabis for the treatment of qualifying conditions.
Patients and caregivers may buy medicinal marijuana from state-licensed, non-profit producers. Caregivers may buy and deliver medicinal cannabis on patients' behalf if such individuals cannot administer medical cannabis themselves. Also, patients may have cannabis delivery services in the city deliver marijuana to their doorsteps. Patients may also apply for personal production licenses permitting them to cultivate cannabis for personal use.
Once approved for cannabis cultivation, patients and their caregivers may cultivate a total of four mature plants and 12 seedlings. With proof of physician authorization, out-of-state visitors to Albuquerque can purchase medical marijuana in the city.
Registered medical marijuana patients may purchase up to 425 units of cannabis and cannabis products over rolling 90-day periods. Patients can purchase dried flowers, edibles, tinctures, and topicals. A unit equals one gram for dried flower, while 425 units equal 15 ounces of dried flower products. One unit equals 200 milligrams or 0.2 grams of THC for edibles, topicals, and tinctures. The state allows registered medical marijuana patients to track their rolling 90-day purchases using an online tracking tool.
Registered Albuquerque patients may purchase medical cannabis from licensed dispensaries tax-free up to the 425-unit rolling 90-day supplies. Note that residents may apply for enrollment in the state medical marijuana program regardless of age. However, persons under the age of 18 are required to have caregivers.
To be eligible for a medical marijuana (MMJ) card in Albuquerque, you must reside in the city or another New Mexico jurisdiction and have one or more qualifying debilitating conditions. New Mexico currently approves medical marijuana use for 28 health conditions. These conditions include Alzheimer's disease, cancer, glaucoma, autism, anorexia, HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis C, PTSD, Parkinson's disease, Friedreich's Ataxia, ALS, and multiple sclerosis. For a complete list of all qualifying conditions, visit the Healthcare Providers and Practitioners page of the New Mexico Department of Health (NMDOH) website.
To apply for an MMJ card, you may submit your application online, by mail, or in person at the following addresses:
Department of Health
Medical Cannabis Program
PO Box 26110
Santa Fe, NM 87502-6110
Department of Health
Medical Cannabis Program
1474 Rodeo Road, Suite 200
Santa Fe, NM 87505
The following must be included in your application:
Completed application form. Note that the patient and medical provider section must be fully completed. The healthcare provider must indicate the primary qualifying medical condition and provide contact information and a license number. The form must also have the original signatures of both patient and the medical provider
A copy of your current State of New Mexico Driver's License or photo ID.
A copy of a one-page note issued by the clinic related to the qualifying condition
Note that while there is no fee required to obtain a medical marijuana card or enroll in the New Mexico medical marijuana program, your medical provider may charge a fee for the services rendered. After your application has been approved, you will receive your medical marijuana card at the address listed on your application. The process may take 4-5 weeks to complete.
For more information on obtaining medical marijuana cards in Albuquerque, visit the NMDOH website or contact the medical cannabis program at (505) 827-2321
Cannabis may be consumed on private properties or in licensed cannabis consumption areas. It is unlawful to consume cannabis in public areas and workplaces with zero-tolerance policies on cannabis consumption.
You can purchase cannabis online or visit the physical address of an Albuquerque dispensary. You may find the physical addresses of Albuquerque weed dispensaries by using the search term “marijuana dispensaries near me" in an online search engine. If you are visiting the physical address of a recreational cannabis dispensary, take a government-issued ID showing you are 21 or older. You should also hold cash to complete your transaction, as most dispensaries in the city accept only cash.
The average price per gram for recreational weed in Albuquerque costs $13, while an ounce costs about $150.
Some popular cannabis strains in Albuquerque are:
No. In Albuquerque, it is illegal to consume marijuana in public access areas. This includes common areas, hotel rooms, businesses not approved for marijuana consumption, streets and roads, transit facilities, entertainment areas, parks, and playgrounds. The New Mexico Clean Indoor Air Act (CIAA) applies to cannabis and limits where cannabis can be vaporized or smoked. Cannabis smoking is prohibited anywhere tobacco smoking is not permitted.
New Mexico’s cannabis law permits Albuquerque residents over 21 to possess up to two ounces of cannabis outside their homes. Cannabis possession in excess of two ounces of raw cannabis material, 800 milligrams of edibles, or 16 grams of cannabis extract is allowed on private properties. It is a misdemeanor to be caught with more than the legal limit in public by authorities. A misdemeanor conviction might result in 364 days in prison and a $1,000 fine.
New Mexico cannabis law also permits Albuquerque adults to cultivate cannabis. Residents aged 21 or older can grow up to six mature and six immature marijuana plants. The plants must be kept out of public view. However, the total number of mature plants you may own at any one time is 12, regardless of how many adults reside in a household. Cultivating cannabis plants beyond this limit is a fourth-degree felony. In New Mexico, a fourth-degree felony carries a maximum jail sentence of 18 months and a maximum fine of $5,000.
Federal law guiding interstate transportation makes it illegal to transport marijuana across state lines into Albuquerque. Even though cannabis is legal in the city, it is federally classified marijuana as an illegal narcotic under the Controlled Substances Act.
Yes. The City of Albuquerque permits cannabis retail outlets to offer online services for residents seeking to purchase cannabis online.
The City of Albuquerque has not set a general operating hours regulation for dispensaries in the city. However, per New Mexico cannabis law, cannabis dispensaries and cannabis delivery may only occur between 7:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m.
Yes. Tourists with valid government-issued IDs showing that they are above 21 may use recreational marijuana dispensaries in Albuquerque. Tourists with physician’s recommendations can also purchase medical marijuana from medical cannabis dispensaries in the city.
When entering an Albuquerque weed dispensary, you must show photo identification (government-issued) showing that you are at least 21. No other form of ID is required in order to purchase marijuana from a recreational weed dispensary in the city. However, to purchase medical marijuana products in the city, a medical marijuana card is required.
The best weed dispensaries in the City of Albuquerque:
Everest Cannabis Company
R. Greenleaf Med & Recreational Cannabis Dispensary
The Verdes Foundation
Albuquerque marijuana dispensaries will scan your ID to track your cannabis purchases and confirm that you are of legal age to use marijuana in the city.
There is no official list of cannabis retail outlets in Albuquerque. However, the search tool New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department reveals several licensed cannabis retail businesses in the city.
Albuquerque weed dispensaries do not accept credit cards. Cannabis purchases in the city are usually completed using cash. You may also find an ATM inside a dispensing facility. Hence, you can complete your cannabis transaction by withdrawing cash from the ATM.
There is no limit to the number of weed dispensaries you may visit in one day. However, you will not be able to purchase more than is allowed under the law.
No, cannabis businesses in Albuquerque do not accept health insurance as health insurance policies do not cover cannabis per federal law.
Yes. Cannabis retailers in Albuquerque track consumers’ purchases in compliance with state law.
No. You must be 21 or older to enter an adult-use cannabis dispensary in the City of Albuquerque. Residents must be 18 or older to enter medical cannabis dispensaries.
The New Mexico Cannabis Control Division (CCD) of the state's Regulation and Licensing Department oversees cannabis operations in all state jurisdictions. You can find the CCD's contact information on the help center page of the New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department website.
To report violations of cannabis rules in Albuquerque, you may contact the city government by calling 311 or file complaints with the following: